ABOUT US

Live Arts is a volunteer theater that has given a home to drama, dance, comedy, music and performance art since 1990. We strive to present high-caliber work unlike anything you’d expect to find in the area. We look to surprise, to delight, to astonish, to move the public, and above all, through live performing arts, forge a deep and lasting bond with our community of volunteers, our community of audience members, our community of Charlottesville and beyond.

OUR MISSION

The mission of Live Arts: Forging Theater and Community

The Live Arts mission statement describes a process, not an end. We forge with passion, melding the disparate raw materials of theater and community. We change and grow together, shaping both a theater and community. We know of no better way to deepen our understanding of ourselves and the human condition.

Who we are:  Artists, audiences, volunteers, benefactors, students, businesses, organizations, neighbors (for a start).

What we do:  Theater, dance, music, circus, puppetry, spoken word, improv.

Our tools and goals:  Passion, participation, risk, rigor, connection.

OUR STAFF

photo by Martyn Kyle/Pernmoot Photography

photo by Martyn Kyle/Pernmoot Photography

Matt Joslyn

Executive Director

matt@livearts.org

x102

 

Bree Luck

Education Director

bree@livearts.org

x100

 

Darryl Smith

Box Office Manager

darryl@livearts.org

x108

 

Geoff Otis

Technical Director

geoff@livearts.org

x113

 

Sarah Morris

Finance & Development Manager

sarah@livearts.org

 

Kim Beard

Database Coordinator

kim@livearts.org

 

 


 

 

Julie Hamberg

Artistic Director

julie@livearts.org

x105

 

Tracie Skipper

Director of Volunteer Programs

tracie@livearts.org

x107

 

Jeremiah Brophy

Production Manager & Fringe Coordinator

jeremiah@livearts.org

x106

 

Kisha Jarrett

Marketing & Communications Manager

kisha@livearts.org

x103

 

August Givens

Assistant Technical Director

august@livearts.org

 

Michele Rzewnicki

Housekeeping Manager

clean@livearts.org

OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Will Kerner

President

Paul Wagner

Vice President

Brian Menard

Secretary

Sara Whiffen

Treasurer

 

Anne Nelson

Betsy Tucker

Dan Epstein

Eric Hurt

Erin Hall

Karen Pape

Kelli E. Palmer, Ph. D.

Marta Keane

Mary Blanton

Norman Oliver

Paden Waldruff

Pam Friedman

Pat Simpson

Ray Smith

Rebecca Haydock

Roberta Williamson

Stephanie Snell

Tim Gould

OUR VALUES

Community

We believe our work is both a reflection of and a process for creating community.

Questions

We believe that theater is better suited to asking questions than making statements.

Tools

We embrace the use of technology, from hammer to computer, but only where it does not take the place of human contact and focus.

Accountability

Our model assumes creative accountability from all participants.

Boundaries

We believe style to be a function of clear and articulate choice.

Show-Biz

We thrive through both show and biz.

Process

We believe that process and product are the same thing.

Amateurs

Our mission is centered on people with outside lives.

Wholeness

We see every component in relation to every other component and all as part of one.

Intimacy

Our work thrives in an intimate atmosphere- a fragile contract requiring constant supervision.

Live Arts is sponsored in part by a grant from the Virginia Commission for the Arts & the National Endowment for the Arts.

Live Arts is also a proud member of the Central Virginia Theater Alliance.

VCA_LOGO   NEA-logo-color